This week, till August 8, the Minnesota State Patrol will conduct extra patrols to prevent distracted driving. Minnesota has the Hands-Free Law, which allows drivers to use their cell phones only by voice commands or single-touch activation. Drivers can make and receive calls, text, listen to music or podcasts and get directions without holding the phone.
Phone can be held to obtain emergency assistance if there is an immediate threat to life and safety, or when in an authorized emergency vehicle while performing official duties.
The minimum fine is $ 120 for the first violation and can exceed $ 300 for further violations. The bill was signed by Gov. Tim Walz on April 12, 2019, and ran into effect on August 1, 2019.
Authorities say more than 19,000 drivers were fined for driving with their phones since the law went into action.
21 states, D.C., Puerto Rico, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands have laws forbidding all motorists from using handheld cellphones while driving. Different states take various approaches. Some laws affect only amateur drivers or commercial drivers, while other laws affect all drivers. Also, some of the laws target handheld devices only, while other laws affect both handheld and hands-free devices.
Make Trucking Great Again Association encourages everyone to respect other drivers on the road, and not set anyone under the risk. Put down your phone, and focus on driving.